Fonds RG-18.0 - Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Social Work - Office of the Dean fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Social Work - Office of the Dean fonds

General material designation

  • Textual record
  • Moving images
  • Graphic material

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1966-2009 (Creation)
    Wilfrid Laurier University Faculty of Social Work

Physical description area

Physical description

97 cm of textual records
66 cm of graphic material
15 CD-ROMs
3 videocassettes : VHS

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator


Administrative history

Wilfrid Laurier University’s Lyle S. Hallman Faculty of Social Work (FSW) offers degrees at the Bachelor (BSW), Master (MSW), and Doctorate (PhD) levels. It is located at the historic St. Jerome’s building on Laurier’s Kitchener location. The FSW is governed through a committee structure that includes representation from faculty, students, field instructors and alumni.

FSW was established in 1966 as the Graduate School of Social Work. In 1974, the name of the program was changed to the Faculty of Social Work to reflect the expansion into part-time, continuing education and undergraduate social welfare courses. In 2015, the Faculty was renamed the Lyle S. Hallman Faculty of Social Work.

Deans of the Faculty of Social Work:
1967-1969: Sheldon L. Rahn
1969-1975: Francis J. Turner
1975-1981: John Melichercik
1981-1984: Sherman Merle
1984-1993: Shankar A. Yelaja
1993-1994: Francis J. Turner (Interim)
1994-1999: Jannah Hurn Mather
1999-2006: Luke J. Fusco
2006-2010: Leslie Cooper
2010-2011: Susan Cadell
2011-2017: Nick Coady
2017-Present: Dawn Buzza

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds contains the records of the Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Social Work. Dating from the inception of the FSW in 1966, the records include information about the founding of the program, official minutes, publications and reports, photographs and other material. Also includes information about the historic St. Jerome's building in downtown Kitchener, home to the FSW since 2006.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Previous identifier: U257

Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Files identified as CLOSED are restricted access. For more information contact Laurier Archives

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres

Physical storage

  • Shelf: Room 1-124 Shelf 21-4-5