Wilfrid Laurier University

Identity area

Type of entity

Corporate body

Authorized form of name

Wilfrid Laurier University

Parallel form(s) of name

Standardized form(s) of name according to other rules

Other form(s) of name

  • Waterloo Lutheran University
  • Waterloo College

Identifiers for corporate bodies

Description area

Dates of existence



Wilfrid Laurier University is a Canadian institution founded in 1911 with the establishment in Waterloo, Ontario of the Evangelical Lutheran Seminary of Canada. In 1924, the Seminary established Waterloo College, which operated a Bachelor of Arts program in cooperation with the University of Western Ontario. Waterloo College gained independence as Waterloo Lutheran University in 1960, and was composed of two units - Waterloo University College and Waterloo Lutheran Seminary. Waterloo Lutheran University in turn became the public, provincially funded Wilfrid Laurier University, on Nov. 1, 1973. Today, Laurier has campuses in Waterloo and Brantford, Ontario, and locations in Kitchener and Toronto. The Waterloo Lutheran Seminary remains affiliated with the university and is located on the Waterloo campus.


Waterloo, Ont.
Brantford, Ont.
Kitchener, Ont.
Toronto, Ont.

Legal status

Functions, occupations and activities

Mandates/sources of authority

Internal structures/genealogy

General context

Relationships area

Access points area


Control area

Authority record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion




Maintenance notes

  • Clipboard

  • Export

  • EAC