Subseries 15.12 - Constitution

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper


General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • [196-] (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Custodial history

Scope and content

This subseries contains the proposed constitution for the Evangelical Lutheran Church Women from the 1960s.

The ELCC's Evangelical Lutheran Church Women was officially established in 1967, coinciding with the ELCC transitioning into an autonomous church. Precursors to the ELCW, include the Ladies' Aid Groups, the Women's Missionary Federation and the Women's Missionary Society. With the establishment of early Lutheran churches at the turn of the 19th century, most congregations had Ladies' Aid Groups, that quickly became the backbone of many congregations. These groups were informally structured with little to no connection to other Ladies' Aid Groups. By the 1930s, many Canadian Lutheran congregations became involved in the Women's Missionary Federation, also referred to as the Women's Missionary Society, by the Danish Church. The WMF had national projects and structure which broadened and unified the Ladies's Aid Groups. With the 1961 ELCC merger, the WMF became the Canada District of Lutheran Women. With ELCC's 1967 transition into an autonomous church, the ELCW was born, with Clara Hedlin as its first President. The ELCC's WMF was founded upon four primary tenets: understanding the Christian mission, affirming women, supporting the growth and development of women, and expressing faith in action.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres