Series 35 - Archives Alive! - Presidents

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Archives Alive! - Presidents

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code


Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

39.5 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Custodial history

Scope and content

This series contains material related to RCCO presidents, including biographical information, correspondence and clippings. It was compiled for the Archives Alive! project.

The Archives Alive! project, started by RCCO Archivist/Historian Paul Chappel in 1996. Chappel used material in the RCCO archival collection to create visual displays for the 1997, 1998 and 1999 National Conventions. He also complied scrapbooks and binders of photographs and historical documents for display.

Presidents of the College:
1909-1920 : Albert Ham, MusD DCL FRCO
1920-1922 : Percival J. Illsley, MusD FRCO
1922-1923 : Healey Willan, MusD FRCO
1923-1925 : Charles Wheele,r FCCO
1925-1926 : Herbert A. Fricker, MusD FRCO
1926-1927 : John W. Bearder, MusD FRCO
1927-1928 : Ernest C. MacMillan, DMus FRCO
1928-1929 : William Hewlett, MusB
1929-1930 : Thomas J. Crawford, MusB FRCO
1930-1931 : Alfred Whitehead, MusD FCCO FRCCO (hon)
1931-1932 : Richard Tattersall
1932-1933 : Herbert Sanders, MusD FRCO
1933-1935 : Healey Willan, MusD FRCO
1935-1937 : Alfred Whitehead, MusD FCCO FRCCO (hon)
1937-1939 : George D. Atkinson
1939-1941 : Paul Ambrose
1941-1943 : Charles Peaker, MusD FRCO FRCCO (hon)
1943-1945 : Eric T. Rollinson, MusB FRCO
1945-1947 : Frederick Silvester, FCCO
1947-1949 : Eric Dowling, FCCO
1949-1951 : John J. Weatherseed, FRCO
1951-1953 : Reginald G. Geen, FCCO (hon)
1953-1955 : D'Alton McLaughlin, AAGO FRCCO (hon)
1955-1957 : Gordon D. Jeffery, BA FRCO (hon)
1957-1959 : Muriel G. Stafford, FRCCO (hon) LTCM
1959-1961 : James Hopkirk, MusB ACCO
1961-1963 : Henry Rosevear, FCCO FTCL (hon)
1963-1965 : George T. Veary, ARCO ARCM FRCCO (hon)
1965-1967 : Clifford McAree, MusB LRCT FCCO FRCCO (hon)
1967-1969 : H. Barrie Cabena, FRCO FRCCO (hon) FTCL ARCM
1969-1971 : James Chalmers, ACCO FRCCO (hon)
1971-1972 : Robert Hunter Bell, MM ARCO (CHM) ARSCM FRCCO (hon)
1972-1974 : Graham George, MusD FCCO FRCCO (hon)
1974-1976 : Walter Kemp, DPhil MusM FRCCO FRCCO (hon)
1976-1978 : Gordon Atkinson, MMus FRCCO (hon) FTCL ARCM
1978-1980 : Markwell Perry, MusB FRCCO (hon) ATCM
1980-1982 : Gerald Bales, FRCCO (hon) ATCM
1982-1984 : Margaret Drynan, MusB FRCCO (hon) ARCT
1984-1986 : Donald Mackey, MusB FRCCO (hon)
1986-1988 : John Tuttle, BMus FAGO FRCO (hon) FRCCO (hon)
1988-1990 : David Palmer, MMus FRCCO (hon)
1990-1992 : Giles Bryant, BA ARCO (CHM) DSL FRCCO (hon)
1992-1994 : Norman Brown, MA BPhil FRCCO (hon)
1994-1996 : Patricia Phillips Wright, DMA MFA FRCCO (hon)
1996-1998 : Karen Holmes, BA FRCCO ARCT
1998-2000 : Simon Irving, MA FRCCO
2000-2002 : Marnie Giesbrecht, DMus LICM ARCT
2002-2004 : Mark Toews, DMA MMus ARCT
2004-2006 : F. Alan Reesor, DCnL MMus FRCCO (hon)
2006-2008 : David Cameron, MMus FTCL FRCCO (CHM)
2008-2010 : Valerie Hall, MMus MCM
2010-2012 : Gilles Leclerc, MMus
2012-2014 : Nicholas Fairbank, BSc MA MMus ARCCO ARCT
2014- : James Bailey, BArch MRAIC OAA CAHP

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Language of description

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres